Grad-School Bound

I don’t like to brag. If anything, I tend to downplay accomplishments because it’s not in my nature, and I don’t want to incite the evil eye. But seriously – reading this message on my MyASU board knocked the wind out of me. At every stage of this grad school application process, I doubted myself. My family will attest to this – I was a nervous wreck! No amount of comfort made me feel like this was something I was entitled to. And that’s why I worked that much harder for it – I didn’t think I was a shoe-in, despite my good  grades and other attributes. There’s always someone who’s got a bigger and better rap sheet, right? Well, I guess all the stars aligned and my hard work paid off. I’m hoping that this will be my calling, and the program will be incredible! I’m not looking forward to the loans and the distance to get to Tempe, but I’m excited for the accelerated 18-month program, and for the chance to be in classes with like-minded folks! I’ll be blogging about it more as it materializes closer to August 🙂

~Lena

One response to “Grad-School Bound

  1. Barbara Winsor

    Congratulations! You may have had your doubts, but we never did! Wishing you all the best,
    Barbara & Pat

Leave a Reply

