Instant Watch: Buffy & Dexter

Are your TV show options slimming down as the summer approaches? Do you feel down at random intervals of the day because 24 is getting canceled, Glee is wrapping up the season, and/or Dancing with the Stars is weaning down, one has-been celebrity at a time? If so, you should consider Netflix Instant Watch. At just a  couple clicks a day, you could be on your way to a more fulfilling and entertaining vacation – all from the comfort of your home! (Side effects may include: uproarious laughter, edge-of-the-seat jitters, and more.)

So, what is Netflix Instant Watch? I may already be preaching to the choir, but let me just say, it’s the way of the future (way of the future…way of the future). If you’ve got even the cheapest subscription to Netflix (i.e. one movie out at a time), you are privy to their entire online streaming catalog of movies, shows, documentaries, etc. Now, you can watch these by way of several nifty tools: your computer screen, the Roku device, many Blue-Ray players, a Wii console, XBox, and I believe, Playstation.

If you’re looking for a streaming TV series that’s addicting with cult-like following, may I suggest:

For the 24, Alias, Bones, Angel, Serenity, Dark Angel, Fringe, and Firefly lover:

1. Buffy the Vampire Slayer

Starring: Sarah Michelle Geller, David Boreanaz, Allison Hannigan

Plot: teenaged Buffy acquires a secret age-old duty to defend the hellmouth (no relation to the AZ border, ba dum bump) from vampires. Journey includes a sage guide (“Watcher”), a vampire cursed with a soul, and a couple of friends (which self-reference as the “Scooby gang”)

Audience: tween to adult; the show has surprising depth and well-thought out characters and scripts; thank you Joss Whedon! Vampire slayings are fun to watch and also correlate with the real-life troubles of this coming of age woman.

Duration: 7 seasons

Next, for the Six Feet Under, Quentin Tarantino, CSI, Weeds, True Blood, Law and Order: SVU, etc, lover:

2. Dexter

Starring: Michael C. Hall, Julie Benz, Jennifer Carpenter

Plot: By day, a blood-spatter crime analyst. By night, vigilante serial killer. This psychologist’s gold mine sets off with virtually no human connection and finds pleasure in butchering those  that escape the justice system. Along the way, he puts on a good face and goes through the motions of being a loving boyfriend/husband, a brother, and a friend. It’s somewhat creepy, but it’s so good! I think the intro/theme song, if you will, does a  good job of setting the scene of the duality that is Dexter Morgan.

Audience: Adult. Gory violence, language, all that good stuff.

Duration: Just wrapped up season four (guest starring the incredible Jon Lithgow as Dexter’s nemesis), currently filming season 5. The first two seasons are on Instant Watch.

Also, check out your Netflix page, or Instant Watcher (Edit: linked to wrong url the first go-around, but it works now) for a complete list of titles available for streaming! 🙂

3 responses to “Instant Watch: Buffy & Dexter

  1. Thanks for your suggestions! I’ve got both of season 1 in my queue and I can’t wait to start watching them…though I have to forget about them until after finals along with 24! I’ve heard that the first Buffy season is really corny, is it still good to watch it or should I skip to season 2?

    Oh and have you tried 30 Rock? We’re really enjoying watching the first three seasons on Netflix Instant…it’s like the Office except better. 🙂

    • I totally understand – finals and 24 must be prioritized, hehe. Good luck on your exams, though, and I hope to see you soon!!

      To be honest, the first season might be a bit corny, but I think it’s worth your time to get to know the characters. It’s totally up to you, though! Maybe give it 3 episodes and if you can’t bear it, definitely skip to season 2. But I think you’ll like it 🙂 Joss Whedon has a great reputation, and he even did the “eighth” season of Buffy as a graphic novel 😉

      I’ve watched a bunch of episodes of 30 Rock, and you’re right – they’re hilarious! I’ve got that show queued up as well. For some reason, though, I find it more…busy than the Office, and I can’t watch more than a few episodes at a time, lol. Am I weird? But Tina Fey…there are no words! Brilliance.

      • Thanks! I started watching the first episode of Buffy and I’m enjoying the corniness so far. I actually read the graphic novel for my superheroes class last year but I barely understood it. Maybe I’ll give it another go!

        Haha yes, Tina is brilliant, and you’re right, it is a lot busier than The Office…but I still think Floyd is Jim Halpert’s secret twin 😛 Haha no you’re not weird, we usually get one episode in every couple of days, but that’s also because of playoffs!

Leave a Reply

