Eminem Supports Gay Marriage!

“I think if two people love each other, then what the hell?” he says. “I think that everyone should have the chance to be equally miserable, if they want.”

In his own colorful way, Eminem has voiced the simplicity of the argument for gay marriage rights, and I applaud him for doing so! In a way, I’m surprised – seeing as his previous records had their fair share of homophobic lyrics. But, as he says in his own words, he’s matured.

“Shady still exists,” he says. “But I don’t think the subjects on this record call for, you know, bring the chainsaws and axes out and murder everyone on this record. There was so much stuff like that off the last record that I felt like I was starting to run it into the ground. I think consciously I went in a different direction with this record.”

Moreover, I like that he’s not making apologies for his music – he claims that everything he’s said in the past was what he was genuinely feeling at the time, but that he’s calmed down a bit and can see things from a new vantage point. Check out his newest single, I’m not Afraid, which I think highlights his change in attitude very well.

Leave a Reply

