Turkey Beer Burgers

In general, I find most alcohol unappealing to my taste buds. This is especially true of beer – I’ll have a bud light lime on occasion, or take a sip of whatever Dave’s trying, but the aftertaste is usually enough to stop me from going for more. However, I’m finding one particularly good use for beer — cooking! A while ago, my friend Annie treated me to beer bread, which was literally a recipe calling for a bottle of beer mixed in with dough and whatnot. The flavor was unlike any bread I’ve tried before!

So, when I was watching Rachael Ray a couple mornings ago and saw she was making smoked beer burgers (with beef and Gouda), I was inspired to try my own recipe with beer and turkey! As Dave will confirm, they came out really well! It’s a really easy summer recipe that you can make on the grill, if you want! Here are the details, feel free to mix it up and let me know how yours came out (and what ingredients you used)!

Turkey Beer Burgers

  • 1 lb ground turkey
  • 1/3 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/3 bottle beer of choice (I used Miller High Life)
  • 1 tbsp fresh ground parsley
  • 3 tbsp bread crumbs
  • 2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • salt, pepper, cumin & etc to taste

In a bowl, mix turkey, some mozzarella cheese, parsley, bread crumbs, Worcestershire sauce, and seasonings. Then, add in the beer. If the turkey gets too moist, add some bread crumbs to blend together. Grill, add more cheese and toppings, and enjoy with some sides! (Recipe makes 4 medium-sized patties).

2 responses to “Turkey Beer Burgers

  1. Great blog. Mind if I re-post this on the Guinness facebook page?
    http://www.facebook.com/GuinnessUS

Leave a Reply

