Prop 8 – You’re fired!

As I’m sure you’ve heard, Proposition 8 was overruled!! Of course, I’m totally overjoyed, and on a personal note, I think it’s extremely appropriate that it happened right after I finished Queer as Folk! Judge Walker of the 9th Circuit District Court rejected Proposition 8, citing it unconstitutional!

I particularly like what he said here:

“Plaintiffs do not seek recognition of a new right. To characterize plaintiffs’ objective as “the right to same-sex marriage” would suggest that plaintiffs seek something different from what opposite-sex couples across the state enjoy — namely, marriage. Rather, plaintiffs ask California to recognize their relationships for what they are: marriages.”

Judge Walker also pointed out several ‘findings’ related to gay marriage, which he included in his 136-page ruling. You can find all of them here, as well as the entirety of his ruling here. In my mind, these are common sense, but I appreciate him pointing them out nonetheless. I know that many people will continue to simply cling to what they already believe, and accepting a new idea is difficult (As Inception so gracefully pointed out), but I think it’s time for the next frontier on gay rights. Once people realize that gay people are human, and are Americans, just like they are, I hope we can put this whole issue to bed. Moreover, I believe the ignorance and intolerance of homosexuality stems almost entirely from fear of the unknown. I have yet to hear a convincing argument against marital rights for gays, and no, I don’t accept the “it’s always been between a man and woman” argument. It’s always been a lot of things that aren’t anymore!

Anyways. Here are Walker’s ‘findings’ that stood out for me:

  • “The availability of domestic partnership does not provide gays and lesbians with a status equivalent to marriage because the cultural meaning of marriage and its associated benefits are intentionally withheld from same-sex couples in domestic partnerships.”
  • “Permitting same-sex couples to marry will not affect the number of opposite-sex couples who marry, divorce, cohabit, have children outside of marriage or otherwise affect the stability of opposite-sex marriages.”

Now, for some fun — check out this hilarious clip from a couple years back, “Prop 8 – The Musical”  🙂

Leave a Reply

